Tedi31.com Newsletter
The 10 Minutes or Less Podcast with Dr. Tedi Villasor
№10: Raising the bar from 50 to 75: Updating the list of the NBA’s Greatest Players | S1E5 | The 10 Minutes or Less Podcast with Dr. Tedi Villasor | + More!
--:--
--:--

№10: Raising the bar from 50 to 75: Updating the list of the NBA’s Greatest Players | S1E5 | The 10 Minutes or Less Podcast with Dr. Tedi Villasor | + More!

March 15, 2021

Welcome to the tedi.substack.com weekly newsletter! At the beginning of each week*, this newsletter will touch on any number of entertaining, informative, or (possibly) useful topics.

The highlight for this week is the fifth episode of The 10 Minutes or Less Podcast with Dr. Tedi Villasor wherein I break down my twenty-five choices for inclusion into the “Top 75” NBA Greatest Players list.

As we move further into 2021, your comments and feedback will also be of immense help in shaping the direction of the newsletter. Till then, I will be utilizing a free flowing format that will incorporate the aforementioned podcast as well as a combination of book, movie, documentary, or television series recommendations.

Thank you in advance for your time and constructive feedback. Read away!

Leave a comment

* - Unless something exciting comes up that necessitates an additional entry.


Share your thoughts!

As part of my efforts to release a self-help eBook by the end of August 2021, I was hoping to get the pulse of the public (so to speak) on the topics that they would like me to touch on. The general question is this: If you had an opportunity to talk to a counseling and/or sport psychologist for an hour, what would the session focus on?

The button below will redirect you to the survey.

Click here for the survey

My buymecoffee.com page is up and running!

Thank you for your time.

Tedi


Questions?

Are you in need of therapy? As a counseling and sport psychologist, I am here to help! For more information on scheduling a Zoom Teleconsult with me, kindly click on the schedule a session today button below.

Schedule a session today

Interested in having a speaker talk to your group or team? Click on the book me button below.

Book me


Raising the bar from 50 to 75: Updating the list of the NBA’s Greatest Players (The 10 Minutes or Less Podcast with Dr. Tedi Villasor) [S1|E5]

Recorded on the evening of March 15, 2021, the fifth episode of The 10 Minutes or Less Podcast celebrates the National Basketball Association’s (NBA) 75th Anniversary by updating the “NBA’s Top 50” with an additional twenty-five players.

The 1974-75 MVP was the only league MVP to be left of the 50 Greatest players list. That oversight has been remedied in my updated Top 75 list.

You can find the latest episode of The 10 Minutes of Less Podcast at the top of this newsletter.


Call for #PICOF2022 Submissions

I am excited to share that The Philippine International Comics Festival (PICOF) is now accepting pitches for their #PICOF2022 competition. It is open to newbie and professional comic book creators of all ages who have an original Filipino story in mind for an English graphic novel (96 pages in length).

PICOF is open to a number of genres and art styles such as Adventure, All-Ages, BL, Comedy, Erotica, Fantasy Furry, Horror, Romance, Sci-Fi, Slice-of-Life, Strips, Superhero, and Young Adult.

Last year, my Lindol co-creator Randy Valiente and I sent in our entry—entitled, “Mga Panaginip” (Dreams)—to the #PICOF2021 contest. The ten (10) finalists have yet to be announced but we remain hopeful and are keeping our fingers crossed.

If you are interested in such an opportunity, you will need to submit the following in PDF format with a signed entry form on or before MAY 30, 2021 to picoflions@gmail.com

a. TITLE OF ENTRY;

b. PITCHLINE (1-3 sentences);

c. DETAILED STORYLINE (1-3 pages max);

d. MAIN CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT (1 page max including character design & character background);

e. FIRST 8 KOMIKS PAGES (sketches or pages);

f. PORTFOLIO of previous komiks or artworks related to the sample art (10 pages max);

g. CREATOR’S RESUME with a clear profile picture (1 page). Save all requirements (A-G) in one PDF file, with the creator’s name and title of entry as FILENAME.

Ex. DelaCruzJuan_TheNinthRayOfTheSun

Pitch it with the hashtag #PICOF2022.

Good luck guys!


The Commitment to Run

Back in mid 2007, I had this intense pre-workout routine wherein I would run on a treadmill for 20 minutes (Other qualifiers—that I won’t really get into—included gradually increasing my pace [speed] and gradient) every time I was at the gym. Back then, I was there a lot! I did it so often in fact that I found myself in pretty much the best shape of my life. How good you ask? Well, there was this one time that I played a couple of full court basketball games with my uncle and couple of strangers. They were all gassed by the second game and I was still zipping up and down the court like the Road Runner from Looney Tunes.

I did that for a couple of months and then my body finally gave. After a couple of missed workouts, I suddenly lost momentum and stopped completely.

Broke 5 km for the first time in 2021!

Now here I am 14 years later, attempting to make some semblance of a running comeback. Not as intense as before, but something regular. Something that I can look forward to week after week.

I’ve actually been putting off any writing on this subject as I wanted to see if I could sustain this renewed “commitment to running.” Now, with 11 weeks into the New Year, I am happy to say that I have yet to miss a week of running.

In fact, I finally broke the 5 kilometer mark today! (Go, me!) I know my pace could be better but breaking the 5 kilometer barrier is such a big deal because I really couldn’t see myself ever hitting that distance when I started in January.

Now here I am.

Next up, making this 5 KM my average distance and see if I can bump it up to 6 KM by mid-April.

I’ll keep you guys posted on my progress.

If you have ever wanted to do something like this but could never seem to find the motivation, what you need to do is this: Go out and do it. That is the first and biggest step. It doesn’t matter what the distance is. What your time is. Remember, you went against the grain. Every fiber in your body saying, “Don’t do it!”

Yet, you did it!

Now go out and do it again! Heck, Maybe we can even virtual pace each other. Who knows what tomorrow many bring right?

This could be the first step to the new you.

So do not delay and start today.

Be good and stay safe.

- Dr. Tedi


About

Tedi Gustilo Villasor, Ph.D. is a former columnist for Baby Magazine (Philippines) as well as a past contributor to NBA.com/Philippines. His other works include the indie comic books Lindol and OBIsessions.

Click here for more information on his work as a psychologist.

Official Website | Instagram | Pinterest | YouTube | Twitter | Facebook


  • Click here to order Lindol (with artist and co-creator Randy Valiente) from our online partner Secret HQ.

  • Click here to order OBIsessions (with artist and co-creator Jann Galino) from our online partner Secret HQ.

  • Click on the following links to order Issue #1, Issue #2, and Issue #3 of Lindol (with artist and co-creator Randy Valiente) from our online partner Mervstore.com.

  • If you happen to drop by Comic Odyssey’s Robinson’s Galleria, the branch is stocked with copies of Lindol #1.


tedi.substack.com is a weekly newsletter—published every Monday*—that touches on a variety of events and interests—namely mine. Should you happen to find the newsletter entertaining, informative, or (possibly) useful, kindly consider on supporting my work so that I could invest more into the future of the newsletter. Truly, every little bit helps.

At the moment, the best way to support tedi.substack.com is via buy me a coffee.

* - Unless something exciting comes up that necessitates an additional entry.


Would you happen to know somebody who maybe interested in tedi.substack.com? If so, kindly share away!

Share Tedi31.com Newsletter


Subscribe to tedi.substack.com below!

0 Comments
Tedi31.com Newsletter
The 10 Minutes or Less Podcast with Dr. Tedi Villasor
Taken from its eponymous title, The weekly 10 Minutes or Less Podcast with Dr. Tedi Villasor briefly tackles an array of topics in 10 minutes....or less. For more visit www.tedi.substack.com